Love like ghosts

The poem I chose to share with you all for national poetry writing month is a found poem or a song poem. I chose this this poem because music is a big part of my life and writing things about music or making music comes very easy to me. The story behind this poem is nothing special, when we were writing our poems in class I was trying to think of a song that could work for my poem, I tried a few things but nothing worked, until I found my song, “love like ghosts” by Lord Huron. The song is slow, and calming and very well spoken, so it was easy to remember lyrics.

My experience with NaPoWriMo wasn’t bad, I definitely could’ve taken it a little more seriously but, I never enjoyed writing poetry because the writing process took a long time and I could never find good inspiration. This unit definitely opened my eyes to the variety of poems and helped me find some that I liked.

Yes, love is like ghosts.

Everybody talks, but few feel

The moonlight shows you what is real

The things I feel, hurt me sometimes.

But, your endless eyes carry me through the night.

Leave a comment